Home   A   B   C   D   E   F   G   H   I   J   K   L   M   N   O   P   Q   R   S   T   U   V   W   X   Y   Z 

Where Is Equatorial Guinea and What
Is It Known For?


Flag of Equatorial Guinea

Equatorial Guinea consists of Rio Muni, an enclave on the Atlantic coast of central Africa, and the islands of Bioco, Annobón and the Corisco group. Most of the population lives on the coastal plain and upland plateau of Rio Muni. The capital city, Malabo, is on the fertile volcanic island of Bioco.

With an area of 28,000 square kilometers (11,000 sq mi) it is one of the smallest countries in continental Africa. It is also the most prosperous; however, the wealth is concentrated in government and elite hands, with 70 percent of the population living under the United Nations Poverty Threshold of $2/day. Oil production started in 1992, and oil is now the main export, along with timber.

With a population of 1,014,999, Equatorial Guinea is the third smallest country in continental Africa in terms of population. It has one of the worst human rights records in the world, consistently ranking among the "worst of the worst" in Freedom House's annual survey of political and civil rights.

The climate is hot, humid and wet.

Privacy Policy